Happy Thanksgiving!


I swear this blog isn’t turning into a food blog, but I couldn’t resist sharing some of snazzy infographics from GOOD Magazine in honor of the upcoming holiday.  So, while you listen to your family discuss uncomfortable politics and fill your bellies with all manner of delicious foods, take a minute to consider who did the most traveling to get to your table. In all likelihood, it was the food!

My department does a 100 mile potluck Thanksgiving each year, where all the grad students bring delicacies that were made with ingredients within our food shed (100 mile range). I signed up to bring my favorite Thanksgiving food this year: cranberry sauce. Only later did I even think about the fact that nary a cranberry is grown south of the Mason-Dixon line and that sugarcane is not typically found growing roadside in Virginia either [how embarrassing]. So obviously I scratched that plan and brought an apple galette instead. I learned my lesson: the “traditional” Thanksgiving foods have less to do with being appreciative for local harvest and more to do with the fake history of the pilgrims and Indians that we learn about American history. Fooled again by elementary school.

This year, I’m thankful for the farmers who challenge themselves to grow delicious, nutritious foods within 100 miles of where I live. If you want to find out what’s growing in your neighborhood, check out this (warning: a little user-unfriendly) food map from the USDA.

Bon appetit, y’all!

2 responses to “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. It’s really great to say that my family has become more health conscious–hopefully because of how I am–and they went out of their way to get the safest, and healthiest, of thanksgiving meals! Enjoy the time with fam on Thursday, and thanks again for the chart to go with it ;))

Leave a Reply

