Coconut Oil and what to do with it

Long time, no post around here! Well, happy new year and we’re back in blog business – sorry for the lag time!

I’ve been wanting to write a post on the oil cleansing method for centuries (ok at least a couple of months), so here it is finally. I also have a few extra tid bits about my new favorite oil: COCONUT.

Coconut Oil and How to Use It

For Christmas I attempted to make solid perfume for my sisters and my friends as a little something extra. Well, I pretty well botched it by crafting my own recipe instead of following a real tutorial. I just used coconut oil and some essential oils and didn’t add beeswax, etc. I mean it was FINE but not GREAT. Wouldn’t be the first time I ruined a good idea. But all is not lost because I still gave them as gifts, re-branding them as cure-all solid lotions. Hands, feet, face, elbows, wrists, hair, let your imagination be your guide!

I was walking with a friend who mentioned that her skin has not been so fresh lately and she has been experiencing little flare-ups of acne.  She revealed that she has been sleeping in her makeup a little too much lately due to…ahem….unforseen circumstances.  Anyway, I realized that no lady should ever be caught without the ability to properly clean her face at night and that she should just use the little coconut cure-all/solid perfume I gave her because it can always fit in a small purse. Friends don’t let friends sleep in makeup.

So for all you ladies out there wondering in what ways coconut oil might be missing from your lives, you heard it here first:

1. Eat it.

Oh She Glows sweet potato chickpea salad

Virgin Coconut oil is good for you, full of fatty acids and antioxidants. This recipe for Cinnamon Sweet Potato Chickpea Salad is just the bomb.com. And some say it is a life-changing experience to add coconut oil to your popcorn.

2. Put it on your hair.

coconut oil shampoo get clean girls

vintage advertisement

Ok, do this sparingly at the risk of looking like what my sister affectionately calls a “grease bucket”. If you take a little bit, warm it on your palms, and pat onto your hair, it will smooth flyaways and add a little texture. This is also a good way to give clean hair a little oomph before you braid it, hot-roll it, curl it, or straighten it.

Look for coconut oil in shampoo ingredients and other natural hair products too! There are plenty of tutorials online for making your own hair mask recipes and coconut conditioner rinses.

3. Use it like lotion.

Coconut oil is rich and fatty, so it really plumps dry skin. If you have dry skin, it’s safe to use coconut oil anywhere you like, including your face. For those with acne-prone skin, there are mixed reviews as to whether or not you should use coconut oil on your face. I would say proceed with caution on that front.

4. Wash your face with it.

Ok this is just my favorite and you can cheat on coconut oil with other oils: jojoba is safe and some swear by olive oil. Remember the face wash myth post from a while back? Well I had promised a tutorial on oil cleansing and here it is!

Whether your face is covered in makeup or not, this method is safe for you! Oil cleansing wipes away dirt, makeup, and surface oil without completely stripping away natural sebum, leaving you with silky, moist skin.

To cleanse with oil, warm a quarter-size amount of oil in your palms and gently swirl all over your face.  While your face is looking particularly greasy and likely smeared with lipstick and eye liner, warm a wash cloth with hot water. Tilt press the warm cloth onto your face for up to a minute (for those of you who are patient).  Once it has started to cool, gently wipe your skin clean. I don’t recommend using your favorite washcloths for this, because they’ll get pretty dirty.  Once your face is rosy and clean, you needn’t even towel off because it will be dewey from this process and you will look brand new. Don’t even think about re-using that washcloth until you’ve washed it. You’ll go to bed feeling like you got a face lift. It’s safe for the morning too if you feel like you need another wash.

If you want to know more, there’s even a website specifically devoted to this face wash method: http://www.theoilcleansingmethod.com/

5. Experiment cosmetically.

I sometimes dab it around my eyes to brighten up if my eyes look tired. I also have patted it over some blush to fake a little rosy glow if I’m feeling pallid.

6. Swish and rinse, or “pull”.

Finally, I leave you with the most bizarre use of coconut oil that I’ve seen. I can neither defend nor deny the power of the oil swishing method. You be the judge!

Coconut oil is one of the primary oils used for “pulling” – swishing a spoonful in your mouth for about 10 minutes for brighter teeth, better breath, and toxin release.

3 responses to “Coconut Oil and what to do with it

  1. Pingback: Isotretinoin 101 Follow Up – What Happens After Accutane? | Get Clean, Girls·

Leave a Reply

