Our First Blogiversary: Year-in-Review

by Laura Pilati

208725_3428020630584_2057639653_n

About a year and a half ago, my daydreams of opening a natural salon and store for women in Richmond drove me to contact my friend Madeleine, who shared and helped spark my interest in all things wellness and holistic health related. A salon, I thought, takes a lot of time, energy, and risk. But a blog? Now that we can do, and not drop even a dime.

cropped-rainbow.jpg

After months of brainstorming, overthinking titles and lingo, and file sharing, Get Clean, Girls was born on February 14th, 2012. Our first post was about loving yourself–appropriate, we thought, for such a date!

proportionedyellow

Over the past year, we’ve re-branded, gotten 80 facebook followers and over 30 wordpress subscribers (google reader subscribers, who are you?!?), received 167 comments, written 45 posts (this one’s the 45th!), and received about 17,500 views. Whoa! But the numbers don’t tell the full story.

blog stats

We’ve written about building your own DIY cosmetics pantry, working with coconut oil, sugar waxing, DIY hair highlights, life with acne and accutane, deciphering ingredient lists, cleaning make-up brushes, how we each became interested in personal wellness, and everything in between. And those are just some of the most popular posts! We’ve also had five guest writers who have written about dandruff treatment with jojoba oil, the “curly girl” hair method, weight watchers, and more.

jojoba oil scalp treatment

We’re still so excited about this blog and so thankful for your support and community participation. So, as a special treat in addition to all of the virtual hugs and kisses we’re sending out this week, we’re also doing our first giveaway! Yes, you read that right!

Check back on Thursday, our proper blogiversary–aka Valentine’s Day–for a chance to win a very special prize. No hints! ๐Ÿ™‚

4 responses to “Our First Blogiversary: Year-in-Review

  1. Congratulations guys, on your first anniversary!
    Do you hold any classes or local events in RVA? I live in the area and been slowly making my way into herbalism and it started with making my own skin care remedies because even after accutane my skin would not budge. So I “got clean” if you will ๐Ÿ™‚ and I have been trying to relearn my health and my body literally from the ground. I really want to get more involved. Just showing some love to the blog and keep me posted ๐Ÿ™‚

    Natalie

    • Hey Natalie! Thanks for the comment and the “love”! Madeleine and I actually did do a workshop on reading labels once, but while we were still in school together. Now that she lives in Charlottesville, we don’t see each other as often, but I’ve secretly wanted to reserve the community room at Ellwood Thompson’s and do something along those lines…maybe with your push I’ll look into it. We’ll definitely let you know if we do! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Congrats, Girls, love your blog! It’s informative, down to earth and funny. Hope you keep it up for a long time.

Leave a Reply

