Happy Blogiversary: DivaCup Giveaway!

by Laura Pilati

Hey friends! We’re really excited about what we’ve got in store for you today. Hint: there’s a giveaway (keep reading)!

I’ll admit–I’ve been nervous about reviewing the Divacup.Β  I’m a long-time fan and user, and we’ve gotten several requests since starting the blog for a review post. But a woman’s menstrual product of choice is one of many individual preferences, and hopefully you know by now that we support them all. That being said, please feel free to post your own experiences with and opinion about the DivaCup (and other menstrual products) in the comments.

For those who haven’t heard of the DivaCup, here’s a little bit of information that I’ve taken straight from the company’s website:

The DivaCup is a reusable, bell-shaped menstrual cup that is worn internally and sits low in the vaginal canal, collecting rather than absorbing your menstrual flow. Menstrual cups have existed since the 1930s when women were searching for an alternative to the choices of the time. Yet, its breakthrough into the feminine hygiene industry is much more recent.

DivaCup Logo

With the recent release of Instead’s SoftCup, menstrual cups have started to gain more widespread popularity and recognition among the general population. When I first began using a DivaCup over five years ago, however, most women I spent time around weren’t as familiar, and I felt a bit self-conscious about it. It’s different! Some friends thought it was a cool idea, while others wondered how it could possibly be comfortable or convenient, and what the heck did I do in public restrooms? But six years into it, my feelings are the same: the Divacup is a great choice for me. Here’s what I’ve learned and loved during that time:

  • The DivaCup is made of medical grade silicon–no BPA, . There’s no chance of it releasing toxins into my body or the environment, which is really important to me. And the high quality silicon means that can be easily cleaned (by boiling or using the DivaWash) and reused!
  • The DivaCup can be kept internally for up to twelve consecutive hours. No risk of TSS. That’s a big leg up on tampons!
  • The DivaCup doesn’t absorb–it collects. So there’s none of that dryness or discomfort that typically comes from a tampon, which absorbs your normal fluids as well. For me personally, I’ve also noticed less exterior skin irritation since switching to the DivaCup.
  • For a traveler and on-the-go kind of lady like myself, not having to think about packing enough pads or tampons is a huge plus. I just pack my DivaCup in a special case and I’m ready to go. No more filling my suitcase with boxes of tampons!
  • Nope, I can’t feel it.
  • Using the DivaCup means that I’m contributing less waste (via pads and tampons) to the landfill.
  • I love the DivaCup company’s story–a woman-owned business, founded by a mother-daughter pair. I also love to follow them on facebook (they keep a twitter account, too) because of all of the great articles that they post. It feels good to support a company that is truly invested in women and their health!

DivaCup Boxes

With most products, there are some qualities that just don’t make it a perfect fit. For me, the cons of using the DivaCup are significantly fewer–and less important–than the pros. But they’re still there:

  • Most of the time, I can empty and clean the DivaCup at my own home with no problems. It’s easy and it takes no time at all. But sometimes you just have to do your personal business outside of your own home, and it can feel awkward to do this in a public restroom. Fortunately, it’s ok to just wipe the cup cleanly and then do a more thorough wash later.
  • I myself have found that sometimes, the cup presses against my bladder in such a way that I have to urinate more frequently. But that may just be a personal thing!
  • I no longer carry pads or tampons with me, so I can’t usually help a friend out when they ask for one in an “emergency”. It feels like I’m not part of a female bonding ritual anymore…sounds silly, but really!

I don’t find using the DivaCup to be “gross”, nor do I think it’s more or less messy than a tampon or pad. Actually, I find it very similar to using a tampon–it’s just that it has to be cared for differently.

DivaCup on Bag

Oh, and did I mention that the DivaCup costs as little as $30? The savings I earned from not buying any more tampons or pads were recouped within just a cycle or two. Those pads and tampons are so crazy expensive! So, if you’re interested in purchasing, you can buy online or use the DivaCup’s store finder to find a local retailer!

Now, here comes the fun part: our first giveaway! In honor of GCG’s first blogiversary, we want to thank our friends for their support by giving you the chance to have your very own DivaCup! DRAWING IS NOW CLOSED. Thanks to all who entered! To enter the drawing, please comment below by 2/16 at 12:00pm EST and tell us:

  • Your name and email address
  • What you’re doing to love yourself today!

A winner* will be randomly chosen by random.org on February 16th (edited) and notified by email. Good luck!

*Open to US and Canadian residents only. Sorry! 😦

We weren’t paid or perked for hosting this review and giveaway. We just love DivaCup and want to thank you for a great year!

33 responses to “Happy Blogiversary: DivaCup Giveaway!

  1. Thanks for the post!

    You answered a lot of questions I had been wondering about but never knew who to ask (or if I did, I was maybe too self-conscious or unsure to be that forward with someone)! I’ve reviewed the website but sometimes you just want the skinny from an actual user. So this was really helpful. It does seem like a dramatic switch and I’ve been contemplating it for a long time… but the way you write about it makes it seem very doable, keeping in mind one’s own body and cycle.

    Today, for Valentine’s Day, I’m treating myself to a workout session and walk at the Vita Course with my two best gals! Then healthy tapas and a glass of wine afterwards! No chocolates or fattening dinners- that’s how I’m showing myself love today.

  2. I will totally jump in on this to give Kerry some competition πŸ˜› Great giveaway idea!

    Name: Lauren Gray
    email: lbirney88@gmail.com

    Today I am doing some volunteer work, studying for the dreaded GRE, and looking forward to a relaxing evening of cooking/baking/drinking champagne with the hubby πŸ™‚

    • Lauren, I don’t know you but GOOD LUCK on the GRE! I just took it yesterday πŸ™‚ The math made me cringe but I was prepared for it! Congrats on making the decision to go for it! πŸ˜€

  3. Ok ladies, you know that I have asked you about this cup many a time, and I admit that I have been on the website several times, poised to purchase, and have never been able to follow through. But here you are, reminding me again that this is something from which I could REALLY benefit! So I’m entering.

    Name: Tashina Harris
    email: CTHarris2010@gmail.com

    What I’m doing to love myself today: I gave myself a pass on some law school reading I didn’t *quite* finish, I helped filed my first motion that I’m going to argue in court in a couple of weeks, I let myself eat a chocolate truffle at work–no guilt!–and I plan on helping Charles make a low-key dinner at home (with wine!), after which I might see if I can talk him into walking to our local frozen yogurt place. Yes, I love snacks. No shame.

  4. Name: Christiane

    I am loving myself by going out and eating sushi tonight! There is this new place in town that I must try. I’m going to go after I finish my last night class. And of course, I love myself, so I love the woman that brought me into this world, so I’m going to make sure I call my mom today and tell her I love her (she texted me Happy Valentine’s Day : ] )

  5. This year I switched a clean eating vegan lifestyle and since the switch I have been into greening more than just my outside, if you get what I’m saying. I think it’s really important to also green my menstrual cycle. To think of how many feminine hygiene products are in landfills and water ways is truly baffling.

    Today, I’m going to love myself by doing some at home pampering. I know my skin could use a little TLC with all of this dry winter air! (:

  6. Thank you for the wonderful opportunity. I am loving myself by taking control of my health problems (fibro and arthritis). I have made many changes this year : gave up pork, cigarettes, and an antidepressant that was making my symptoms worse. I am drinking more water and exercising to improve my pain levels. Because of my fibro tampons are painful to use so I am hoping to try a DivaCup.
    itssoeasy2me@gmail.com

  7. Both my best friend and sister use Diva Cup, and I want to try it but am on a super-tight budget right now. What did I do to love myself today? I’ve been wanting to learn to crochet, and today I bought myself a crochet hook and some yarn so I can finally learn!

    Louise C
    ehlara@gmail.com

  8. What a wonderful review for one of my favorite products! Great job! I shared in on Facebook so all of my girls can think about becoming a diva. Today, for myself, I’m going to take a much awaited trip to the library and pick up a few girl movies for the weekend. It’s going to be cold and it will be a great time for hanging out under a blanket And watching chic flicks. πŸ™‚

  9. My name Londia B
    email=silverneon2000 at yahoo dot com

    To love myself is spending time with my husband and boys and have a nice dinner together as a family

    Thank you

  10. I LOVE the Diva Cup! What great give away! To love myself today I’m taking care of my body by getting some much needed groceries and cooking a wonderful meal this evening. Top items on my list include seasonal fruits and veggies, raw apple cider vinegar (so many uses), and dark chocolate.

  11. I’ve stopped to smell the roses! For real! Received them from hubby today and just took the time to smell and ponder! πŸ™‚

  12. I want one of these so bad!
    What I’m doing to love myself today is, I got a new Nook Hd+ from my taxes and relaxing reading a book πŸ™‚ with 2 boys under 3, its always busy and relaxing gives me the “me time” I need πŸ™‚

  13. I Love Love Love the Diva Cup! To Love myself today I am: Taking time for myself to just relax and enjoy life. Sometimes it goes by too fast.

  14. What a great and honest review!
    Today to love myself I am going to a West Coast Swing lesson and social dance. I feel on top of the world when I’m dancing, and there’s no better way to celebrate the end of a long week.

  15. I just saw a link to this review and giveaway and had to come check it out. I’m a recent convert to using the Diva cup and I LOVE it! I tried the Instead soft cup and was not impressed. I much prefer the Diva Cup, especially since I had an IUD (copper) put in just a few months ago and didn’t like the idea of having to wear the other cup right up at the cervix. The Diva is super easy to put in and really isn’t gross to maintain. It’s so hassle free and I don’t leak when I’m wearing it. No worries for any activity – swimming, running, yoga, etc.

    To love myself today, I’m donning my Diva, getting the house clean and tidy (feel so much better when it’s not a mess), taking the kids out to run off some energy while I get a jog in, and NOT eating the pizza that family will be ordering for dinner.

    Laura
    laura@muro.org

  16. Name; Claudia
    dealsfan32 at gmail dot com

    I am eating healthy today to love myself and reading a book with a cup of tea.. Thank you for the chance to Win!

    • Hey Cristina! I think that the DivaCup website actually provides some really good information in response to your concerns:

      http://divacup.com/how-it-works/care-and-cleaning/

      My own response is that you’ll know what you’re comfortable with, and if you just can’t get comfortable with the DivaCup (or another menstrual cup), you’ll know if it’s right/not right. That being said, I really think you have to try a cup before you can say with certainty whether or not you like it. It takes practice to get the “routine” down, and after a while it becomes second nature to some and still awkward for others. DivaCup just warns to make sure that you wipe the cup clean and don’t leave any small bits of toilet paper on it–that’s the main concern as getting bits of paper inside the vagina allows bacteria a place to grow and could lead to an actual infection. Funny, since this is really the same material that pads and tampons are made of! But as long as the cup is cared for appropriately and you follow DivaCup’s guidance on when to get a new one (they can last for years, but do begin to deteriorate after a time), there really isn’t any risk of infection from the actual cup.

      hope that helps! thanks for your great question.

  17. Thanks for all the information on the DivaCup.
    I’m loving myself by taking a gentle yoga class each week, and improving my diet. Today I had an afternoon nap – felt wonderful!
    cgrandy823 at hotmail dot com

  18. Would love to get the chance to try a divacup. I was good to myself today by sitting out in the sun for half an hour while the kids played, soaking up the Vitamin D!

    my email is suezq93 at gmail dot com

  19. I’m reading a great book, despite being up all hours to nurse my 5 month old, chasing my two year old, having to work in a Sat and belatedly celebrating my wonderful hubby’s birthday!

  20. Hope I get it in time! I have been loving myself by walking my dog more often and longer in order to be healthier and keep my dog healthier (not to mention tire her out and keep her calm).

    I would love to win!

    Michele_r25@hotmail.com

    • Thanks for your comment, Michele! Unfortunately, the drawing was closed at 12:00pm EST today. We appreciate your participation nonetheless!

Leave a Reply

